Whickham and District Motor Club and Hadrian Motor Club are looking forward to welcoming you to the 2019 Event.....................................
e: info@cheviotstages.co.uk
The Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally

A selection of Photos, News and YouTube videos of previous events...


Damian Cole and co-driver Elliott Edmondson were winners of the 2013 UTS Cheviot Keith Knox Stages Rally. After thirteen special stages on the Otterburn Military Ranges, their Ford Focus WRC topped the time sheets to give Cole a record-breaking fourth consecutive MSA Asphalt Rally Championship title.

They finished 20 seconds ahead of runners-up John Stone/Carl Williamson whose Skoda Fabia WRC recorded identical penalties to the Ford Escort MkII of Simon Mauger/Brian Cammack. However, once the tie-break had been invoked, Stone's quicker time on the opening stage gave him the advantage, but Cammack had still done enough to claim the Asphalt Championship Co-drivers' title.

The Subaru Imprezas of Michael Glendinning/Fiona Douglas and Darren Doherty/Stewart Merry were 4th & 5th respectively with Alex Laffey/Jack Morton rounding off the Top Six in their Ford Fiesta S2000.

With just the final stage to go Paul Bird, accompanied by Aled Davies, was holding 2nd overall but a visit to a Northumberland ditch in his Focus WRC cost them more than six minutes to the leaders, dropping them to an eventual 9th overall.

The event also marked the conclusion of the North of England Tarmacadam Championship which saw Chris Anderson/Chris Thirling (Ford Fiesta) holding a slender lead over the Peugeot 106 of Barry & Michael Lindsay. However, after the Fiesta had come to grief against an Otterburn fence, the pendulum swung in favour of the Lindsays who were 8th overall.

The unsettled weather - sunshine interspersed with some heavy showers - made the going doubly difficult for crews with a resultant retirement rate of more than 30% of the original starters. Peter Taylor/Paul Hughes, second behind Cole after the first couple of stages, put their Ford Focus WRC well off the road on the fourth stage while shortly afterwards Steve Simpson/Patrick Walsh, who had inherited runnersup spot, had to withdraw when a crack appeared in their Impreza WRC's gearbox. The car had filled with smoke and, with some long stage to come, they were not only worried that all the oil would drain out but also that it could cause a fire!

2012 Cheviot winner, John Indri, was battling manfully on in the slippery conditions in his two-wheel drive Darrian T90 GTR and was up to 5th overall before a transmission fault prevented him from leaving service to tackle the final two stages.

Rallies on the Otterburn Ranges always present a severe challenge, as all those contesting the UTS Cheviot Keith Knox Stages will agree and, although free of the ice that greeted competitors on the 2012 event, those crews featuring in the list of award winners have just cause to be pleased with themselves!


John Indri and Steve Hartley

John Indri Darrian

John Indri and Steve Hartley on the final stage


Damian Cole and James Morgan

2011 Damian Cole and James Morgan



John Stone and Patrick Walsh

2010 John Stone Patrick Walsh 3


Rob Hornshaw and Sam Collis

Past Rob Hornshaw Sam Collis

2009 Cheviot Keith Knox Rally

Mark Jasper and Don Whyatt

Past Mark Jasper Don Whyatt

Andy Fenwick and Rob Fagg

Past Andy Fenwick Rob Fagg

Jimmy and Kevin Knox

Past Knox Boys Touchdown

2008 Cheviot Keith Knox Rally

David Conley and Mike Scrimgour

Past David Conoley Mike Scrimgour

2007 Cheviot Keith Knox Rally

Roger Donnan and Kim Baker

Past Roger Donnan Kim Baker

© Copyright, The Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally 2019 Website Powered By tmb